WPT: Clement Beauvois Leads Day 1b at Mazagan

Clement Beauvois (right) leads both Day 1 fields. (Photo courtesy of WPT)

Day 1b of the World Poker Tour Mazagan Main Event came to a close after eight levels of play. Today saw 80 players take the felt – totaling 146 for both days – and 43 of them are moving on to Day 2. Leading the field is Clement Beauvois with 166,800, edging out Guillaume Darcourt from yesterday.

Joining Beauvois at the top of the counts are Alain Roy (153,100) and Leonard Truche (131,000). Sebastien Compte, Bruno Fitoussi, Alexandra Petitjean, and Pascal Hocquard all have six-figure counts. Former WPT Champions Davidi Kitai and Mohamed Ali Houssam remain in contention, but will face stiff competition from Bruno Lopes, Zimnan Ziyard and recent 10th place finisher at the WSOP Main Event Gaelle Baumann.

With registration complete the numbers were crunched and a hefty $168,207 will go to the winner along with a seat in the $25,000 WPT Championship at the Bellagio. The final table payouts line up with at least five-figures and the top 18 finishers will get paid.

Thibaud Guenegou, Giovanni Rizzo and Kara Scott were all eliminated during the day’s action. Scott would enjoy a sizable stack during the early levels, which reportedly helped soothe a migraine headache. But a giant preflop all in bet holding ace king against Compte’s pocket aces led to her elimination.

Fitoussi will be looking to close out what has been his most profitable year in recent memory. He cashed four times across the WSOP and the WSOPE, with his biggest score coming at the final table of the $50,000 Poker Players Championship.

Baumann has handled bubbling the biggest final table of the year in July and has since cashed twice on the other side of the Atlantic. Her first cash in the BLUFF database was less than two years ago and since April of this year she has booked over $600,000 in tournament earnings.

Day 1b Top Ten Chip Counts:

  1. Clement Beauvois – 166,800
  2. Alain Roy – 153,100
  3. Leonard Truche – 131,000
  4. Sebastien Compte – 127,700
  5. Pascal Hocquard – 108,800
  6. Bruno Fitoussi – 107.700
  7. Alexandra Petitjean – 105,200
  8. Johan Guilbert – 97,100
  9. Bruno Lopes – 89,400
  10. Giacomo Fundaro – 85,900
The following two tabs change content below.

Paul Oresteen

Senior Writer: Paul Oresteen originally joined BLUFF in 2008 as an intern. He covered two World Series of Poker’s before leaving to join PokerNews.com. After a two year hiatus Oresteen returned to BLUFF in November 2012. Since starting as a poker journalist Oresteen has covered the World Series of Poker, WSOP Circuit, World Poker Tour and European Poker Tour. He graduated from Georgia State University with a B.A. in Communications in 2008.
Bluff.com News Contributors

Related News Stories