WSOP Mid Day: Vamos Brazil, Ben Lamb on Fire, Rep Makes a Double

Cada is having one of his best runs since his Main Event victory

With both of Monday night’s final tables coming back due to hard stops, there were seven tournaments in action on Tuesday afternoon. While the Razz event got a winner in short order, it took nearly four hours for Event 43 to crown their champion. The $1,000 No Limit Hold’em got down to a final table of its own; throw in a $10,000 Championship event and you have a very exciting day of poker.

$10,000 Six-handed No Limit Hold’em Championship

One of the most star-studded fields of the Summer was back for Day 2, as the $10,000 Six-handed No Limit Hold’em Championship field started to shrink. When they left for their dinner break, just 84 of the 474 who started at noon on Monday were still in contention to win this bracelet.

Among the larger stacks in the field is 2008 WSOP Main Event champion Joe Cada. He’s the last Main Event champion among the remaining players, and he hasn’t played many events thus far at the 2011 WSOP, so he’s looking to cash in on one of just a few opportunities.

The chip leader heading into the dinner is Ben Lamb. Lamb is on a ridiculous tear, with a win and a runner-up finish already this year. Lamb is looking to put some distance between himself and the rest of the field in his new position in the lead of the WSOP Player of the Year race.

Players will return from their dinner break at approximately 7:50 pm PT. Here are some of the bigger stacks at the dinner break:

  • Ben Lamb – 550,000
  • Mike Sowers – 410,000
  • Joe Cada – 330,000
  • Phil Laak – 260,000
  • David Benefield – 255,000

$2,500 Seven-card Stud Hi-Lo/Omaha Hi-Lo

As tends to be the case in split pot games, it has been slow going in the $2,500 Stud Hi-Lo/Omaha Hi-Lo event. There were 201 players still alive from the starting field of 450 when the day began, now only around half remain. With approximately 100 players and dinner break on the horizon, the top of the chip counts look awfully similar to the way they looked at the start of the day.

Abe Mosseri is still the chip leader, only now his stack is even bigger and one of the only ones above the century mark. Kevin Iacafano began the day second in chips and is near the top of the leaderboard with 95,000 chips of his own. Several other notable names at the top of the counts include Barry Greenstein, Jimmy Fricke, Josh Arieh, Jerrod Ankenman, and Bryan Micon.

Jon Aguiar, Tom Dwan, Miami John Cernuto, Shaun Deeb, Mike Matusow, and Marcel Luske are just a handful of the players who busted so far today. There will be plenty more players going home empty-handed today too, as almost half the surviving field has to bust before play hits the 48-person money bubble.

Players just headed off to their dinner break with 93 still alive. Play will resume at approximately 8:20 pm PT.

$1,000 No Limit Hold’em

Here are the chip counts from the final table of the $1,000 No Limit Hold’em Event. Players are currently on dinner break and cards will be back in the air at around 8:25pm PT:

Seat 1: Kenneth Griffin – 1,020,000
Seat 2: Jean Luc Marais – 1,915,000
Seat 3: Antonio Esfandiari – 1,820,000
Seat 4: Jonathan Lane – 475,000
Seat 5: Philip Hammerling – 1,520,000
Seat 6: Jeremiah Siegmund – 380,000
Seat 7: Eric Baudry – 370,000
Seat 8: Aaron Massey – 445,000
Seat 9: Andrew Teng – 735,000

$1,500 No Limit Hold’em (Event 48)

As one $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event stretched well into a fourth day, Event 48 got underway. The sixth $1,500 No Limit Hold’em event of this type drew a field of 2,713 players, around par for the course as far as these field sizes have gone. With a prize pool of $3,662,550, 270 players will cash for at least $2,966, and the winner’s share will be $650,223.

As the players head to the dinner break, the clock reads 982 players remaining. Among those to make early exits were Jeff Williams, Jeff Madsen, Faraz Jaka and Ike Haxton. Players will return from their break at approximately 8 pm PT.

$2,500 Deuce-to-Seven Triple Draw

Today’s 5 pm event is another mixed game staple, as they played Deuce-to-Seven Triple Draw. In 2010, this tournament drew 291 players to generate a prize pool of $669,300, including $180,730 for Peter Gelencser who won the tournament.

As of this post, there are 258 players registered. Registration will remain open until the end of the 30 minute dinner break after Level 4. Among those already spotted in the field are Jean-Robert Bellande, Shannon Shorr, and Jon Turner.

$1,500 No Limit Hold’em

It took until the 34th hour of play in the tournament, but Andre Akkari emerged victorious, defeating Nachman “thelandlord” Berlin heads-up to win his first career bracelet (the second ever by a Brazilian) and $675,117.

$2,500 Razz

Rep Porter headed into the fourth day of the Razz tournament at a disadvantage, but he dominated play on Friday. Porter defeated Stephen Su to win his second WSOP bracelet and $210,615.

The following two tabs change content below.

Tim Fiorvanti

Tim Fiorvanti graduated from St. John's University with a B.S. in Journalism in 2008. After several years in the industry, he started working for BLUFF in the summer of 2010. He worked his way up at BLUFF and joined full time as a Senior Writer in April of 2012. Fiorvanti now serves as the Managing Editor of BLUFF. He's a tortured Mets and Jets fan, along with several other frustrating allegiances, but he's also a two-time defending BLUFF Fantasy Football Champion.
Comments News Contributors

Related News Stories