Opting In/Opting Out of thepokerdb's System (Currently PokerStars Only)

Why am I seeing this image?
While searching for player results you may encounter the 'private' image on certain PokerStars players. This image has been implemented in accordance with PokerStars privacy policies in the request detailed below as 'PokerStars' Policy Regarding "Rankings/Ratings" Services'

If you have any questions or concers about this policy please contact PokerStars support@pokerstars.com

Opting In:   If you'd like to opt-in, allowing users to view your extended PokerStars statistics, please follow the instructions listed below:

Within the PokerStars Software, transfer $0.03 to ResultSites

The funds will be transfered back to you within 5 days, and you will have opted into thepokerdb display system.


Opting Out Opting Out of PokerStars data display:

Within the PokerStars Software, transfer $0.01 to ResultSites

The funds will be transfered back to you within 5 days, and you will have opted out of thepokerdb's PokerStars display system.


In the month of August 2007 PokerStars mandated that websites displaying player's rankings and ratings require players to opt-in before displaying certain data.  Within thepokerdb this only pertains to PokerStars data.  

PokerStars' Policy Regarding "Rankings/Ratings" Services

To ensure player privacy regarding certain player statistics and financial information gathered by websites (hereinafter "Service Operator") that collect and organize PokerStars players' results by various means, PokerStars has devised the following rules with which such Service Operators must comply:

No player profitability data (i.e. ROI, net profit, etc) may be displayed on any player unless the player has explicitly opted into such display by transferring $0.03 to a prominently published PokerStars account owned by the Service Operator. This request must be acknowledged by the Service Operator by sending the $0.03 back to the player as confirmation within a reasonable time frame not to exceed 5 days.

Any player may choose to completely opt out of having any information about them displayed on the Service. To do so, player will transfer $0.01 to the service operator's PokerStars account. This request must be acknowledged by the Service Operator by sending the $0.01 back to the player as confirmation within a reasonable time frame not to exceed 5 days. Note that the amount here is different, in order to distinguish an opt-out request from an opt-in request.

The use of the "transfer from user to Service and back again" method for opt-in and opt-out is required. This method permits these requests to be handled privately and securely without the disclosure of the player's Email, real name, or other private information. Only the player's PokerStars User ID is required.

Both the opt-in and opt-out options must be prominently displayed on the main / front page of the Service (at minimum, a normal-sized link on the front page to a more complete description elsewhere).

If the service's operation pre-dates the establishment of these guidelines (December 2006), there shall be no "grandfather clause" for existing data. 100% of historical profitability data must be removed from view until such time as a player explicitly opts in as above.

Any Service Operator found to be in violation of these rules risks having their access to PokerStars' game client restricted and/or the service impeded, including but not limited to the warning of players who access the Service while the PokerStars client is open.